Senior Scratch Cup

The glory days of the Senior Scratch Cups were in the 1950’s, 1960’s and 1970’s. On a Sunday morning the elite of amateur golf would rise early, travel to a Scratch Cup, play 36 holes and return home, often in darkness. Indeed these competitions were important events on the calendar of the top amateur golfers!

An aspect of the leading Senior Scratch Cups in the early days was that they attracted huge spectator participation. Spectators lined the fairways to watch such stars as Jimmy Bruen, Joe Carr, Tom Craddock and Peter Townsend.

Nowadays, our leading amateur golfers, many of whom are full-time players, are too busy with top amateur competitions overseas to have time for Senior Scratch Cups which are now. apart from a few exceptions, the preserve of club golfers with handicaps of 4 or less. The heady days of the Senior Scratch Cups are undoubtedly over!

Inaugurated in 1964, when Noel Fogarty of Royal Dublin was the winner, the Athlone Senior Scratch Cup has down through the years attracted many of the leading amateur golfers. John O’Leary claimed top spot in 1969. Athlone’s Irish international player and later Irish Captain, Eddie Dunne, was the winner on five occasions – 1972, 1977, 1979, 1980 and 1983. Other Athlone players to capture the title were Paddy Egan (1972, 1978), Colm Moriarty (1999, 2001), Padraig o’ Boyle Jnr. (2002) and Ciaran O’Connor (2005). Richard Coughlan of Birr, now a professional in the U.S.A., was the winner in 1987. However, the most famous winner of the Rupert de Lacy Staunton Cup was Padraig Harrington in 1994


Year Winner Club
1964 N Fogarty Royal Dublin
1965 R De L Staunton Castlerea
1966 B.P. Malone Tullamore
1967 B.P. Malone Tullamore
1968 S Meaney Castletroy
1969 J O’Leary Foxrock
1970 G Young Kilrush
1971 S Meaney Castletroy
1972 P Egan Athlone
1973 E Dunne Athlone
1974 R De L Staunton Castlerea
1975 T Hayes Hermitage
1976 T Hayes Hermitage
1977 E Dunne Athlone
1978 P Egan Athlone
1979 E Dunne Athlone
1980 E Dunne Athlone
1981 P O’Rourke Kilkenny
1982 R De L Staunton Castlerea
1983 E Dunne Athlone
1984 L McNamara Woodbrook
1985 S Rooney Co. Sligo
1986 K Kearney Roscommon
1987 D White Moate
1988 D McLoughlin Mullingar
1989 R Coughlan Birr
1990 S Heavey Castlecrea
1991 P Killeen Claremorris
1992 G McNeill Warrenpoint
1993 P Murray Tipperary
1994 P Benson Castlebar
1995 P Harringhton Stackstown
1996 K Kearney Co. Sligo
1997 G Cullan Beaverstown
1998 C Cassidy Portmarnock
1999 C Moriarty Athlone
2000 S Browne Hermitage
2001 C Moriarty Athlone
2002 P O’Boyle Athlone
2003 M O’Sullivan Galway
2004 C O’Connor Athlone
2005 S Heavey Co. Sligo
2006 J Lyons Galway
2007 A Moran Tuam
2009 C Molloy Ardee
2010 A Gleeson The Castle
Scroll to top